Tuesday View 5.2.17

I’ve selected the Memorial Garden to be my Tuesday View to share with folks on Cathy’s Words and Herbs garden blog.  

And away we go with the bare earth beginning. The outside border is heart shaped to surround those who are gone with love. The Memorial Garden is dedicated to the memory of those who rallied, danced, gathered and labored on The Hill. 


The weekly view.  Lots to do this spring.  Pacing the labor is key. Pulling, digging, tugging recalcitrant rhizomial grasses. Digging and dividing spring roots can seem unending. 

Let’s meet the plants. First, the lupines in memory of our hopeful dreamers.


Spring growth on our yellow rose for Tex. He taught that we need to defend our rights as free people. 


 I don’t know what this plant is yet.  But it is strong and healthy.  It was planted by Miss Sally and Friends of The Hill. 

I added this flowering quince brought to us by Erin and Patrick.


The lilac bushes from the top of The Hill. Pat Daigle transplanted them last year with his super large digging machine. He is an artist and moved them with care and expertise.  Baby lilac buds are setting.


A giant unpruned lilac bush from the hilltop.


I call the flowers that come from these roots Beulah’s giant yellow flowers.  They are in memory of Kenos Henry.  I pulled out a wheelbarrow full of roots that had spread.  The wild tall flowers will still be a strong feature of the Memorial Garden.  

I remember you.

One thought on “Tuesday View 5.2.17

  1. Hi there Mrs B. So glad you joined me and I am really looking forward to seeing this new area of your garden develop! It’s such a lovely idea to have a memorial garden. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment